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In General 

 There are 2 types of licenses – an exempt license and a regular gaming 

license. 

 Your organization may obtain an exempt license if: 

o Gross gaming receipts will not be over $25,000 a year; and 

o You are not going to sell pulltabs or have casino nights. 

o You may conduct bingo and have festival games of chance with this 

license. 

o There is no fee and a simplified application and reporting process.   

o An exempt application (CG-EXEMPT) is available on the website 

under “Applications and Reports.” 

 Your organization must obtain a regular license if: 

o Gross gaming receipts will exceed $25,000 a year; OR 

o You also intend to sell pulltabs or have a casino night.   

o A regular application (CG-1) is available on the website under 

“Applications and Reports.” 

 Your organization qualifies for a license if they: 

o Have a 501(c) 3, 4, 8, 10, or 19 from the IRS or are a common school; 

o Have been continuously operating in Kentucky for 3 years; and have 

maintained an office in Kentucky for at least 1 year; and 

o Have made reasonable progress before their charitable goal in the last 

3 years. 

 

License process 

 The application (CG-1) must be submitted at least 60 days prior to the 

anticipated date of gaming.   

o The application must include an original signature of an officer.   

o Applications are available on the website under “Applications and 

Reports.” 

 The application must be accompanied by the $25 processing fee. 

o The remaining fee will be invoiced at a later date.   

o The fee for a first time application is $100.   

o For subsequent applications, the fee is based on the previous year’s 

gross receipts and could be $100, $200, or $300. 

 During the review process, an office inspection will be scheduled to verify 

the information contained in the application. 

http://www.dcg.ky.gov/
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 While the application is being process, the Department highly recommends 

that you attend training.   

o Training is available at the Frankfort office and periodically in the 

state throughout the year.  A training schedule is available on the 

website under “Training and Class Registration.” You can register for 

training via the Department’s web site as well. 

o There is also a training manual available on the website under 

“Training and Class Registration.” 

o The statute and regulations governing gaming are located on the 

website under “Statute and Regulations.” 

 Once the Department reviews the application, it will contact you to correct 

any deficiencies.   

 The Department does a criminal history check on the CEO, CFO, and all 

chairpersons. 

o If they are out of state, the criminal history check requires that they 

complete a fingerprint card. 

 If your organization qualifies for a license and once any deficiencies are 

corrected, the Department will invoice the remaining fee and send you 

fingerprint cards if required.  

 The license will be issued when the Department receives the remaining 

license fee and the fingerprint cards. 

 

Charitable Gaming Accounting 

 The organization must set up a charitable gaming account. 

o This is a separate bank account in order to deposit the gaming funds 

and pay gaming expenses.   

o There are only certain monies that can be deposited into the account 

and only certain expenses that can be paid from the account.  Please 

make sure that you are familiar with these rules found in the statute 

and regulations, specifically KRS 238.550(9) and 820 KAR 1:120. 

 The organization will need to have initial start-up cash for expenses.   

o The funds can be transferred from general account or another source. 

o The amount needed depends on the kind of gaming conducted. 

 

Financial Reporting 

 If the organization obtains an exempt license, then the organization must file 

the annual financial report (CG-EFR) files by January 31
st
.  This report 

serves as the license renewal.  The CG-EFR can be found on the website 

under “Applications and Reports.” 

 If the organization obtains a regular gaming license, the organization must 

report to the Department either quarterly or annually for every quarter that 

the organization possesses a license on CG-FIN which can be found on the 

website under “Applications and Reports.” 
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o If the organization has gross receipts of $200,000 or less per year and 

does not play bingo once a week, the organization can report annually. 

The report is due by January 31
st
. 

o The organization will also pay the fee due on gross receipts at this 

time which is .0649%. 

 


